madrugada*…

So, I was up at 4:00 a.m. due to some annoying post-nasal-drip crap that was trying to choke me to death. So after many attempts to find a position that was compatable with sleep, I gave up and and got up. Sigh.

I know it looks like I’ve totally abandoned this blog and, although that’s not quite right, I have found it hard to get myself excited about posting. Partly because I’m in that odd space where one book is finished-ish (in other words I’m sick of it so after my latest victim reader finishes with it, I will apply suggested changes judiciously and then release it into the cold, cruel sea of agent-rejections) and the next book still just some notes on my computer…so that’s been the repository of the drips and drabs of creative energy that I’ve had. But mostly I haven’t posted because, as usual, inertia has me firmly in it’s grasp (in other words, I’m a lazy-ass.) I suppose it’s a bummer that the ten many people who read this now have proof that I’m a slacker, but oh well. In the words of a member of the Rat Pack*** “I gotta be me.”

Hasta la vista…

*madrugada** can be loosely translated as butt-early.

**And who knew Madrugada was the name of a band? And not just any band…a Norwegian band with a Spanish name who sings in unaccented English. Life is funny, no?

***Interestingly different than Pack Rat. Hmmm…

7 thoughts on “madrugada*…

  1. I guess I’d rather be butt-early than butt-ugly. I am so excited about your book, I can’t imagine how it must feel to have that accomplishment. So please try to show a little more enthusiasm and optimism, Miss Butt-Slug. (There’s a word picture for ya)

    • haha…well, this isn’t my first rodeo (book) so I would call my attitude “practicing acceptance” rather than being negative. I have learned that all I really have control over is writing the best story I can write at this time. Whether or not it ever finds a home out in published-novel-land is out of my control for the most part (I won’t go the self published route). So this is mostly me having “the serenity to accept the things I cannot change.” ha! (oh, and fergidaboutit…I’m not even going to make room in my brain for your butt-slug picture! hahaha!!)

  2. I’m in a similar place with my blog at the moment. I finished book 4, so I’m not writing anything. I still haven’t gotten the edits for book 1, so I’m not editing. I’m just twiddling my thumbs, which doesn’t make for very interesting blog posts. However, I’m pretty committed to writing a blog post once a week, so I’ll have to come up with something today… Sigh….

  3. I can relate. I keep thinking my book is done (mostly because I’m tired of it) but I also keep feeling like I need to work on it or work on the one I abandoned years ago or maybe just have a glass or two of wine instead! 🙂 But try not to worry about all that stuff while you’re sick. Get better and then worry about it. Hope you feel better soon!

    • ah unfortunately the sinus stuff is a chronic thing–although I have made an appointment to go see a doctor about it. 99% of the time it’s a nuisance, night before last was just a 1% time.

      I totally hear you on the am I finished or not…I think it’s when I get to a place where I start to suspect that all I’m doing is making it different, rather than “better”..that’s when I call it quits. I have, though, given up too soon (both on a first draft and on edits) so I’m probably not the authority on when enough is enough. But except for minor stuff that I’m sure my friend will find, I think that I’m finished with any overarching changes with that book. It’s reached Popeye level, I suppose (It is what it is).

  4. I’ve been wondering why you haven’t been posting on your blog! Glad your book is almost finished. Huge accomplishment! I liked today’s song:)

Leave a Reply

