on nests (empty), books (classic) and iced tea (skillfully made)

So, my youngest child is now gone away to college. There is nobody under the age of 49 living in this house right now (and in four months there will be nobody here under 50, but I’m trying very hard to not think about that.)

Not sure what I think about this empty nest thing yet. Even though he didn’t spend all that much time hanging out with mom and dad, the house definitely feels emptier with him gone. I do understand that chicks eventually leave the nest, so things are as they should be. However, I suspect that the silence left in my musician-son’s wake will continue to bother me for a while.

This morning my garage door jammed, trapping my car inside. So, I hopped into musician-son’s car and drove it to work. On the way home, I rolled down the windows (it was 75 degrees) and popped in his Black Keys CD. I played it loud. Very, very loud.

Oh yeah, I read Vonnegut’s Slaughter House Five on the airplane, and if any of you haven’t read it, I recommend it. It’s one of those rare books that manage to be smart and funny and weird but is still very full of heart. Poo-tee-weet?

And to cap off this obnoxiously random post, here’s a video a friend shared with me. I am not sure, but I think that this guy might be defying some law of physics. Bear in mind of course that I’m one of those liberal-artsy people who never took physics….but still… It’s pretty cool, right?

8 thoughts on “on nests (empty), books (classic) and iced tea (skillfully made)

  1. I can’t imagine what it will be like when my kids leave, but I’ve got a long, long time before that happens. Also, we own the house two doors down, and the kids say that they are going to live there when they grow up. That might work. We must make them stick to that plan. Not sure how, but again, we’ve got time.

    I must read some Vonnegut. I will put that on my list of things to read once I’m done with the draft I’m working on.

    And that video is awesome. Makes me want to try that, although I think I’ll wait until summer. 🙂

    • My husband watched the video twice (he’s the type that love flipping things in pans over the stove). I told him he had to practice that iced tea trick outside first. Ha! Summer is a good idea as well!

      Can you imagine living two houses down from YOUR mom? As much as I loved mine, I don’t think that would have been my first choice as a young adult!

      • I couldn’t wait to get out of my mother’s house, but we didn’t get along. My children will worship me forever, right?

        But seriously, there’s a bunch of kids these days who don’t leave their parents’ house AT ALL these days. I don’t think I want *that,* but two doors down might be nice. 🙂

      • I can’t argue with that.

        Although, it’s been my experience that a child’s adolescence does a good job of helping parents prepare (anticipate with glee) that child’s leaving home…hahaha!! (only half joking here–teenagers can be SUCH a pain in the ass.)

  2. I love the Black Keys! My son gave me one of their CD’s for Christmas and I play it a lot! About that video, I hope whoever that guy made that drink for tipped him big time! Very cool!

    • Black keys is one of those bands I forget that i like until I listen to their music and then I remember and vow to listen to them more often. I agree–I hope that guy got a great tip–he earned it!

Leave a Reply

