wildfires and weeds and a book recommendation

Life has been interesting around here in this rarely-in-the news part of the world. Simply put, East Texas has been on fire.

Extremely dry conditions paired with some wind (but no rain) from hurricane Lee this weekend created the perfect conditions for wildfire. Other than some smokey haze for a day or two, my town hasn’t been directly impacted, but thousands of people in this region were/are (many fires are still burning). Let me tell you, nobody better propose a budget cut around here will negatively impact the fire department while we still have these memories fresh in our minds. These fire fighters are heros.

Now, on to the next thing in this rambling post: I have two questions about the following photos:

  1. What is this stooopid weed?
  2. Other than spending hours in the yard ripping them out (bent over with my freakin’ ass in the air) how can I get rid of them? We have bermuda so no weed-n-feed and it’s all down in the grass, so roundup won’t work. Arrrg! If you have any brilliant ideas, please share them. I’ll thank you, my aching back and hands will thank you, and my neighbors who are surely tired of looking at my ass will thank you.

At last, my final rambling subject: Over labor day weekend I spent several hours in a world created by Patrick Rothfuss.

I started reading this book on Saturday afternoon (after three hours of stooopid weed pulling) and finished it just before dinner on Sunday. The second book in the trilogy just arrived from Amazon, but I haven’t started it yet because I know that it suck me right back into his world and I have stuff to do in this one. But if you’re looking for a well written sweeping fantasy tale you needn’t look any further than this.

A word of warning, however–the author hasn’t finished book three (insert sad face here). I’m thinking I should start nagging Mr. Rothfuss about it on his website. Unfortunately, if the effecacy of my nagging is measured by how often my teenager obeys my request that he pick up his wet towels from the bathroom floor…then there will never be a third book to the series unless I write it myself. ha!

Anyway, so go forth and hug a firefighter, pull up a weed and buy a great book!

Oh and here’s my next gardening trick:

One thought on “wildfires and weeds and a book recommendation

  1. How interesting to see such an opposite consequence of Lee. Here in Philadelphia, we are getting flooded like nobody’s business. Just up the Delaware River a bit, I think they were ELEVEN FEET *ABOVE* THE FLOOD LINE last night. Holy crap. Yesterday was the first day of school for my 5 year old. Or I should say it was supposed to be. Cancelled because of flooding. Today is a delayed start, and since she’s only there for half-day, delaying the start by two hours makes the whole exercise almost worthless (but she wants to go anyway). I’m looking forward to it stopping. raining. please.

    I have so many books on my to-read list now that I hesitate to add The Name of the Wind, but I am tempted…

Leave a Reply

