cake or death…

I’ve been diligently plugging holes and moving things around in my manuscript, and although I love parts of this process, I’m finding that there is a lot of decision making required at this point. Should I say it like this or like that? Should I have the character do this now or later? Blue cake or red cake or green cake or yellow cake? * I make a change and then I look at the scene and think, is it better or just different?

Unfortunately, making decisions isn’t my best thing. In fact, it might just be my worst thing.**  You should see me trying to shop for shoes. Even a trip to the optometrist is enough to make me break out in a sweat:

Look at the bottom row; is A better? Or B?  A or B?  B? or C?……Aaaahhhh!!!

I’m a waffler. I’m a flip-flopper. I suck at making decisions and going back through this book to revise it is just one stupid big fat decision suck-fest.

Sigh.

__________

* Don’t get your hopes up–there isn’t really any rainbow cake in the book. I just found that picture on Flickr Creative Commons and liked it. Sorry.

** I take that back; snowboarding is my worst thing. I have come to believe that certain people (e.g., me) are simply not equipped with adequate proprioception to safely travel at high speeds down icy mountains.

5 thoughts on “cake or death…

  1. Oh, how nice to know we share another trait/flaw/gift: making decisions. I mean, why does choosing one thing always have to mean we leave something else behind?! Who made that rule?!

  2. I am also not a fan of editing, so I feel your pain. I’m supposed to have my manuscript to Bella Books by September 1. I was like, “Oh, that’s no problem. I just need to do a few things. It’ll take a day or two.” And all that is probably true except that I CANNOT BRING MYSELF TO DO IT. Somehow I have to this week though.

  3. And I’m one of the people who actually bookmarked this site: http://www.wikihow.com/Make-a-Tie-Dyed-Cake though I haven’t attempted it yet. Someday… just like my own WIP that wobbles along towards the finish line like Jack Lemmon in high heels.

    Just make it “Edit or Death” instead of Cake or Death and you’ll do fine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

