the art of peace

If we wish to create a lasting peace we must begin with the children.
-Mahatma Gandhi

.

Here is the piece I painted this weekend as a donation for an auction at the Art of Peace Festival. The specs were to donate a small 12″ x 12″ work so it was pretty quick and easy to do.

Now I just have to fill out the paperwork which calls for some statement about my feelings about Peace, and to tell you the truth, I’m a little stumped. Why is it I can write grants at work and fiction for fun, but having to write some earnest artist statement seems so daunting?

 

7 thoughts on “the art of peace

  1. Yeah, I don’t think it’s easy to write a statement about peace, probably for anyone–unless you don’t care about sounding trite. I’m not saying that you should care about sounding trite, but if you do, a subject like “peace” becomes quite difficult.

    Nice piece, by the way!

  2. Sonje…yeah, I’m probably just gonna have to write something a little corny. Oh well, i’m sure it won’t be the first time-ha!
    Shannon…thanks!
    Lifetender…you crack me up, MC!

  3. Pingback: peace times two | bookish and odd

Leave a Reply

